about us

The Fundação Bienal de São Paulo is a vibrant institution that conceives and implements artistic, educational and social initiatives. In addition to producing the event that energizes the art world every two years, it holds activities all year round in a pavilion that is emblematic of Brazilian modernist architecture as well as inside and outside of Brazil. A cultural institution with no political or religious affiliations, the Fundação Bienal seeks to introduce new ideas, provoke debates and educate the eye of the public with an ever-renewing sense of restlessness, purpose and questioning.

Founded by businessman Francisco Matarazzo Sobrinho (also known as Ciccillo) on May 8, 1962, the institution also houses a historical archive on modern and contemporary art seen as a benchmark in Latin America. The aim of the institution is to democratize access to culture and stimulate interest in artistic creation. Activities include guided tours of the exhibitions, training sessions for teachers, in-person and distance courses, lectures and seminars.

The Fundação Bienal benefits from a set group of contributors who work collaboratively in order to ensure the quality of the projects and the development of sustainable initiatives aligned with the challenges of our time.

What we do








to bienal

There are many art exhibitions, fairs, museums of all types and a variety of festivals, but there is only one Bienal de São Paulo. The biggest exhibition in the southern hemisphere, the Bienal is driven by innovative facets of the contemporary art scene, drawing over 500,000 people at every edition. Each Bienal attracts the attention of the entire world, boosting the economy in the city of São Paulo and reaffirming the missions that guided its creation: dedication to the visual arts, education of the public and development of the Brazilian cultural scene.

Admission to the Bienal is free to the public throughout its three-month duration. In parallel to the exhibition, an intensive program of events is held, comprised of debates, seminars, performances and presentations, with activities designed for a variety of audiences. Much more than just an art exhibition, the Bienal is a catalyst for meetings, events and economic activity – the exhibition generates approximately R$ 300 million in business for the city, where it is the sixth largest event on the calendar in terms of visitors.

Beyond the Horizon

Fundação Bienal activities have an impact that extends well beyond the city and the nation. In the year following each Bienal de São Paulo, selections from the exhibition travel to different cities in Brazil and abroad thanks to partnerships established with museums, cultural institutions and public and private organizations in different regions in a traveling show. Presented to a variety of audiences, the exhibition takes on new meanings and perspectives, helping to fuel cultural debate.

The Fundação Bienal de São Paulo is also responsible for conceiving and producing the showcase of Brazilian art and architecture for each Venice Biennale, in a threefold collaborative effort by the Fundação Bienal, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Culture. Since 1995, the mission of choosing the curators who, in turn, select the artists to represent the country at the event, has been handed by the Brazilian government to the institution, acknowledging its historical importance, as well as its prominent role in the contemporary cultural agenda.

Meet our team


Francisco Matarazzo Sobrinho · 1898–1977 · Chairman Emeritus

Executive Board
Julio Landmann · President
Alfredo Egydio Setubal · Vice President

Lifetime Members
Adolpho Leirner
Álvaro Augusto Vidigal
Beatriz Pimenta Camargo
Beno Suchodolski
Carlos Francisco Bandeira Lins
Cesar Giobbi
Elizabeth Machado
Jens Olesen
Marcos Arbaitman
Maria Ignez Corrêa da Costa Barbosa
Pedro Aranha Corrêa do Lago
Pedro Paulo de Sena Madureira
Roberto Muylaert
Rubens José Mattos Cunha Lima

Alberto Emmanuel Whitaker
Ana Helena Godoy de Almeida Pires
Andrea Matarazzo (on leave)
Antonio Bias Bueno Guillon
Antonio Henrique Cunha Bueno
Cacilda Teixeira da Costa
Camila Appel
Carlos Alberto Frederico
Carlos Augusto Calil
Carlos Jereissati Filho
Claudio Thomaz Lobo Sonder
Danilo Santos de Miranda
Daniela Villela
Eduardo Saron
Emanoel Alves de Araújo
Evelyn Ioschpe
Fábio Magalhães
Fersen Lamas Lambranho
Geyze Marchesi Diniz
Heitor Martins
Horácio Lafer Piva
Jackson Schneider
João Carlos de Figueiredo Ferraz
Joaquim de Arruda Falcão Neto
José Olympio da Veiga Pereira (licensed)
Kelly Pinto de Amorim
Lorenzo Mammi
Lucio Gomes Machado
Luis Terepins
Maguy Etlin
Marcelo Eduardo Martins
Marcelo Mattos Araujo (licensed)
Marcelo Pereira Lopes de Medeiros
Manoela Queiroz Bacelar
Marisa Moreira Salles
Miguel Wady Chaia
Neide Helena de Moraes
Octavio de Barros
Paulo Sérgio Coutinho Galvão
Ronaldo Cezar Coelho
Sérgio Spinelli Silva Jr.
Susana Leirner Steinbruch
Tito Enrique da Silva Neto
Victor Pardini

Audit Board
Alberto Emmanuel Whitaker
Carlos Francisco Bandeira Lins
Eduardo Saron

International Advisory Board
Maguy Etlin · President
Barbara Sobel
Bill Ford
Catherine Petitgas
Debora Staley
Eduardo Costantini
Frances Reynolds
Kara Moore
Lonti Ebers
Mariana Clayton
Paula e Daniel Weiss
Renée e Robert Drake
Sarina Tang

Honorary Board
Alex Periscinoto
Edemar Cid Ferreira
Heitor Martins
João Carlos de Figueiredo Ferraz
Jorge Eduardo Stockler
Julio Landmann
Luis Terepins
Luiz Diederichsen Villares
Manoel Francisco Pires da Costa
Roberto Muylaert

Board of Directors
José Olympio da Veiga Pereira · President
Marcelo Mattos Araujo · Vice-President
Andrea Pinheiro
Ana Paula Martinez
Fernando Schuler
Lucas Melo
José Francisco Pinheiro Guimarães
Luiz Lara

Governance Structure


Chief Executive Officer
Luciana Guimarães
Chief Project Officer
Dora Silveira Corrêa
Chief Financial and Administrative Officer
Emilio Martos

Felipe Taboada · Manager
Adriano Campos
Ana Elisa de Carvalho Price
Caroline Carrion
Eduardo Lirani
Julia Bolliger Murari

Institutional Relations and Partnerships
Mariana Montoro · Manager
Irina Cypel
Marina Scaramuzza
Raquel Silva
Viviane Teixeira

General Secretariat
Renata Monteiro

Bienal Archive
Ana Luiza de Oliveira Mattos · Manager
Ana Paula Andrade Marques
Melânie Vargas de Araujo
Pedro Ivo Trasferetti von Ah

Felipe Isola · Planning and Logistics Manager
Joaquim Millan · Artwork Production and Exhibition Manager
Bianca Volpi
Dorinha Santos
Felipe Melo Franco
Graziela Carbonari
Manoel Borba
Heloisa Bedicks
Simone Lopes Lira
Veridiana Simons
Waleria Dias

Educational Program
Elaine Fontana · Coordinator
Anita Limulja
Janaína Machado
Laura Barboza
Maurício Perussi

Laura Barboza · Coordinator

Thiago Gil · Research and Outreach Coordinator
Diana Dobránszky
Regiane Ishii

Cristina Fino · Editorial Coordinator

Amarildo Firmino Gomes · Manager
Edson Pereira de Carvalho
Fábio Kato
Silvia Andrade Branco

Planning and Operations
Marcela Amaral · Manager
Danilo Alexandre Machado de Souza
Rone Amabile

Human Resources
Albert Cabral dos Santos Angelica Bertoluci

Materials and Property
Valdomiro Rodrigues da Silva · Manager
Angélica de Oliveira Divino
Daniel Pereira
Josefa Gomes
Larissa Di Ciero Ferradas
Victor Senciel
Vinícius Robson da Silva Araújo
Wagner Pereira de Andrade

Information Technology
Leandro Takegami · Manager
Diego Rodrigues